Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest

Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Wins Anaheim 2

AMA Supercross - Anaheim, CA

  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
It came two rounds later than he wanted, but Cole Seely broke through and got his fourth career win on Saturday at Angel Stadium. Adding to the victory was the fact that all four TLD riders were inside the top ten in the main event!

Qualifying during the day looked fine for all the riders as times were competitive. When the night show kicked off, it was Jessy Nelson all alone in the first heat and he posted a solid fourth securing his spot in the main event.

Heat two featured Cole Seely, Malcolm Stewart and Shane McElrath and they earned positions into the final with 2nd, 4th and 6th place finishes respectively. Each team rider would have a good pick on the gate and a good chance at grabbing the holeshot in the final.

In the main event Cole rocketed his Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda to the front of the pack right away and took off. His Lucas Oil teammate, Jessy Nelson, did not get the start he hoped for and was making his way forward the best he could. After fifteen laps of battle he was credited with tenth place. Meanwhile, Seely controlled the race from start to finish and collected the win. Cole’s 2-2-1 finished put him in the series points lead heading into round four of the series this weekend.

Backing up the winner were MavTV riders Malcolm Stewart and Shane McElrath. Stewart quietly got a good start and put down fifteen great laps en route to third place, his first supercross podium finish. Shane was also continuing to build momentum. After running up front in Phoenix and crashing, McElrath ran in fifth position for much of the 250 main event in Anaheim before losing a spot with a lap to go and scoring sixth. The finish was a big stepping stone for the supercross rookie.

With all four TLD riders inside the top ten, two on the podium and one standing on the top step, it is safe to say that the team kicked butt at A2’s retro night. Now they look ahead to the Bay Area for round four this weekend. Can Seely extend his points lead? Can Malcolm stay on the podium? Can Jessy or Shane join them and make it an all-Troy Lee Designs podium? Follow the team this weekend and find out!

TLD would like to thank all of our team sponsors: Lucas Oil, American Honda, PPG, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Seaspan, Fender®, Pro Tork, MavTV, Method Race Wheels, GoPro, Fasthouse, Pixelmags, Horizon Hobby, FMF Racing, Dunlop, VP Racing Fuels, Showa, Alpinestars, ODI, Pacific Collision Centers, New Era, Specialized, Sram, Renthal, Twin Air, Braking, McQueen Racing, Cyrca, Sol Republic, Hinson, Shock Doctor, ARC, Carillo, Sports Care Center, Samco, Xtrig, VQ Orthocare, Vortex, Kryptonight, Kasey Kahne, Dirt Star, Moto Tassinari, DID, Dirt Star, N-Style.

Video: Supercross LIVE! On the podium - Cole Seely

Race Results:

250 Heat 1

1. Dean Wilson

2. Justin Hill

3. Zach Osborne
4. Jessy Nelson

5. Michael Leib

6. Dakota Tedder

7. Chris Plouffe

8. Aaron Siminoe

9. Valentin Teillet

250 Heat 2

1. Jason Anderson
2. Cole Seely

3. Cooper Webb
4. Shane McElrath

5. Dean Ferris
6. Malcolm Stewart

7. Austin Burns

8. Cole Martinez

9. Scott Champion

250 Main Event
1. Cole Seely (Honda)

2. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
3. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)

4. Jason Anderson (KTM)

5. Justin Hill (Kawasaki)
6. Shane McElrath (Honda)

7. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki)

8. Zach Osborne (Honda)

9. Michael Leib (Honda)
10. Jessy Nelson (Honda)

11. Dean Ferris (KTM)

12. Dakota Tedder (Kawasaki)

13. Cole Martinez (Kawasaki)

14. Chris Plouffe (Honda)

15. Valentin Teillet (Kawasaki)

16. Chris Howell (Yamaha)

17. Chris Proscelle (Honda)

18. Conner Elliott (Honda)

19. Scott Champion (Yamaha)

20. Austin Burns (Honda)

21. Aaron Siminoe (Kawasaki)

22. Joseph Dalzell (Kawasaki)

250 Western Regional SX Points Standings
1. Cole Seely 69

2. Jason Anderson 68

3. Zach Osborne 53

4. Cooper Webb 53

5. Dean Wilson 50
6. Malcolm Stewart 49

7. Justin Hill 44
8. Jessy Nelson 35

9. Dean Ferris 31
10. Shane McElrath 29

11. Michael Leib 22

12. Darryn Durham 21

13. Dakota Tedder 21

14. Cole Martinez 20

15. Scott Champion 14

16. Chris Plouffe 13

17. Austin Politelli 11

18. Jake Canada 10

19. Valentin Teillet 10

20. Austin Burns 9
More News Articles
Headlines ›

Related Photos

  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby

Featured Products