Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest

Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Rising in Phoenix

AMA Supercross - Phoenix, AZ

It was another heartbreaker for Cole Seely fans this weekend as the Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda rider looked to have the win sealed only to lose it on the last lap. Still, things are looking good for Cole and the whole team.

Seely and his Lucas Oil teammate Jessy Nelson posted solid qualifying times and made it right into the final through their heats without issue. After getting decent starts they finished 2nd and 4th collectively. In the main event Seely would start third while Nelson was buried in the pack. As Jessy dug his way forward Cole shot to the lead and took off. For the next fourteen laps Seely was perfect, and ended up putting down the fastest lap time of 55.7, which ended up being the fastest lap time of both 250 and 450 main events. He kept a steady gap over the rest of the field and looked like he was on his way to his first win in 2014.

On the final lap, however, he bobbled in the sand section and allowed the rider in second to get close. He made a block pass on Cole and Seely was unable to find a way back around before the checkers. For the second time in as many weeks Cole would finish a very close second. Nelson did his best to move forward and would land in 9th at the finish, a solid top ten on the night.

The TLD/Mav TV riders had good nights as well and Malcolm Stewart and Shane McElrath both had reason to smile after their performances in Phoenix. After uneventful qualifying they were looking to have breakout rides in the main. Malcolm got a decent start and fought his way into fifth where he would finish. After a late-race crash at the opener it was great for Stewart to post a solid finish to build on.

Shane McElrath had a rude introduction to the world of supercross last weekend but he showed he is a quick learner this weekend by running up front in the main event early in Phoenix. Shane looked great running in third until about the halfway point where he would tangle with another rider and go down. The crash certainly took some wind out of his sails but he remounted and finished 12th. As a rookie it is important to feel what it’s like at the front of the pack and Shane got a taste of that this weekend.

Each rider had something positive to take from the weekend and they will use that to drive them during the week. When the team pulls up to Angel Stadium next weekend in Anaheim for round three it will be game on once again. This time, second just isn’t going to be good enough.

TLD would like to thank all of our team sponsors: Lucas Oil, American Honda, PPG, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Seaspan, Fender®, Pro Tork, MavTV, Method Race Wheels, GoPro, Fasthouse, Pixelmags, Horizon Hobby, FMF Racing, Dunlop, VP Racing Fuels, Showa, Alpinestars, ODI, Pacific Collision Centers, New Era, Specialized, Sram, Renthal, Twin Air, Braking, McQueen Racing, Cyrca, Sol Republic, Hinson, Shock Doctor, ARC, Carillo, Sports Care Center, Samco, Xtrig, VQ Orthocare, Vortex, Kryptonight, Kasey Kahne, Dirt Star, Moto Tassinari, DID, Dirt Star, N-Style.

Photo Gallery: Phoenix SX 2014 (Photos: Cudby)
Video: Supercross LIVE! On the podium - Cole Seely

Race Results:

250 Heat 1
1. Dean Wilson
2. Cole Seely
3. Cooper Webb
4. Jessy Nelson
5. Jake Canada
6. Shane McElrath
7. Colton Aeck
8. Dakota Tedder
9. Cole Martinez

250 Heat 2
1. Jason Anderson
2. Zach Osborne
3. Justin Hill
4. Malcolm Stewart
5. Scott Champion
6. Aaron Siminoe
7. Conner Elliott
8. Chris Plouffe
9. Dean Ferris

250 Main Event
1. Jason Anderson (KTM)
2. Cole Seely (Honda)
3. Zach Osborne (Honda)
4. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki)
5. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
6. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
7. Dean Ferris (KTM)
8. Justin Hill (Kawasaki)
9. Jessy Nelson (Honda)
10. Cole Martinez (Kawasaki)
11. Scott Champion (Yamaha)
12. Shane McElrath (Honda)
13. Austin Burns (Honda)
14. Darryn Durham (Kawasaki)
15. Chris Plouffe (Honda)
16. Colton Aeck (Honda)
17. Dakota Tedder (Kawasaki)
18. Aaron Siminoe (Kawasaki)
19. Ruben Alanis (KTM)
20. Killian Auberson (KTM)
21. Conner Elliott (Honda)
22. Jake Canada (Honda)
More News Articles
Headlines ›

Related Photos

  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby

Featured Products