Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest

Fillmore Earns 5th at Laguna Seca AMA Pro SuperBike Race

AMA Superbike - Monterey, CA

  • Photo: Brian J. Nelson
  • Photo: Brian J. Nelson
  • Photo: Brian J. Nelson
KTM/HMC Factory rider Chris Fillmore earned 5th overall at the fifth round of the AMA Pro SuperBike race held at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. His teammate, Taylor Knapp, was having his best race of the series holding down 6th position before a crash took him out of the race.

Fillmore and Knapp both had decent qualifying times with Knapp qualifying 7th and Fillmore 8th overall. When the race began, both riders started in their positions and held those spots for the first five laps. On lap five, Fillmore was able to make a pass on both Knapp and Larry Pegram to move into 6th position. Knapp capitalized on that momentum and also passed Pegram. The two KTM riders continued to push each other in a friendly battle throughout the next six laps swapping the 6th place position. On lap thirteen both riders moved up one position after a top five rider went down. While running in 6th place, Knapp suffered a crash on lap sixteen and did not finish the race. Luckily, he was okay and was credited with 18th place.

“Our team made a lot of progress this week,” stated Knapp after the race. “Both Chris and I qualified with good times and were holding our fastest pace this season before my crash. I am bummed about my crash but happy with the position I was in and the progress our team has made so far this season.”

Meanwhile, Fillmore continued to charge forward in his 5th place position, closing the gap on the 4th place ride of Danny Eslick. With five laps to go, Fillmore was able to make a pass on Eslick for the 4th place position. Eslick charged back and the two riders battled side by side before encountering a lapper. Unfortunately, Eslick got around the lapper while Fillmore got pinched off.

Fillmore remarked, “After I got cut off by the lapper, I lost about half a second on Eslick but was still within striking distance. Then I made a small mistake and almost wrecked. I figured at that point that I would back down a touch and hold on to finish 5th. My team and I are really happy with a top five result here at Laguna Seca.”

Next Event: August 2-4, 2013 – Miller Motorsports Park

Overall Results:
(1) Josh Hayes
(2) Josh Herrin
(3) Martin Cardenas
(4) Danny Eslick
(5) Chris Fillmore – KTM
(6) Geoff May
(7) Aaron Yates
(8) Larry Pegram
(9) Cory West
(10) David Anthony
(11) Chris Clark
(12) Chris Ulrich
(13) Dustin Dominquez
(14) Reese Wacker
(15) Mathew Orange
(16) Jacquel Gonzalez
(17) Johnny Rock Page
(18) Taylor Knapp – KTM
(19) Robertino Pietri
(20) Taylor Knapp – KTM
(21) Roger Hayden
(22) Aaron Ascher
More News Articles
Headlines ›

Related Photos

  • Photo: Brian J. Nelson
  • Photo: Brian J. Nelson
  • Photo: Brian J. Nelson

Featured Products