Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest

Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Finds Podium Again in San Diego

AMA Supercross - San Diego, CA

Troy Lee Designs / MavTV / Honda rider Malcolm Stewart had arguably his best night of racing as a professional on Saturday with a solid third place finish. He led his teammates across the line in the main event as the Troy Lee Designs squadron finished third, fourth, fifth and sixth positions.

The heat races went well for the team. In the first heat Stewart and McElrath rode strong to finish third and fourth, securing a spot in the final. The next heat saw Cole Seely ride off for the win, while Jessy Nelson followed him around and finished third. Once again, Troy Lee Designs would be a four-man force in the 250 main event.

The final kicked off with decent starts for all the riders; from there it was every man for himself. Malcolm Stewart put in the best fifteen laps of his young professional career and it netted him a spot on the podium with a third. Cole Seely, who was racing with the red plate and fighting for championship points, couldn't find his usual speed and settled into fourth. Right behind him Shane McElrath was having one of the best races of his rookie season. After making some key passes early in the race he spotted his TLD teammate Seely in front of him and followed him to the checkered flag for fifth overall. And right behind Shane was Jessy Nelson who earned sixth and completed the Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda freight train.

With the series now heading east, the west region riders get a break. Cole Seely sits just four points out of the lead with just a couple rounds left to run, which means when the series comes back west in April, Seely will have to be ready to go out and win. Stewart, McElrath and Nelson will no doubt use this time to build fitness, find speed and grow as racers before returning to the start line in Seattle.

Be sure to follow the Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda team when they get back to racing in Houston, Texas April 5.

TLD would like to thank all of our team sponsors: Lucas Oil, American Honda, PPG, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Seaspan, Fender®, Pro Tork, MavTV, Method Race Wheels, GoPro, Fasthouse, Pixelmags, Horizon Hobby, FMF Racing, Dunlop, VP Racing Fuels, Showa, Alpinestars, ODI, Pacific Collision Centers, New Era, Specialized, Sram, Renthal, Twin Air, Braking, McQueen Racing, Cyrca, Sol Republic, Hinson, Shock Doctor, ARC, Carillo, Sports Care Center, Samco, Xtrig, VQ Orthocare, Vortex, Kryptonight, Kasey Kahne, Dirt Star, Moto Tassinari, DID, Dirt Star, N-Style.

Video: Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Finds Podium Again in San Diego

Photo Gallery: San Diego SX 2014 (Photos: Cudby)

Race Results:

250 Heat 1
1. Dean Wilson
2. Cooper Webb
3. Malcolm Stewart
4. Shane McElrath

5. Dakota Tedder
6. Dean Ferris
7. Michael Leib
8. Brandon Scharer
9. Michael Horban

250 Heat 2
1. Cole Seely
2. Justin Hill
3. Jessy Nelson
4. Scott Champion
5. Jake Canada
6. Jason Anderson
7. Topher Ingalls
8. Zackery Freeberg
9. Valentin Teillet

250 Main Event
1. Justin Hill (Kawasaki)
2. Jason Anderson (KTM)
3. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
4. Cole Seely (Honda)
5. Shane McElrath (Honda)
6. Jessy Nelson (Honda)

7. Michael Leib (Honda)
8. Scott Champion (Yamaha)
9. Jake Canada (Honda)
10. Dean Ferris (KTM)
11. Dakota Tedder (Kawasaki)
12. Preston Mull (Yamaha)
13. Zackery Freeberg (Yamaha)
14. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
15. Ruben Alanis (KTM)
16. Valentin Teillet (Kawasaki)
17. Topher Ingalls (Honda)
18. Jean Marrone (Suzuki)
19. Chris Howell (Yamaha)
20. Brandon Scharer (Suzuki)
21. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki)
22. Michael Horban (KTM)

250 Western Regional SX Points Standings
1. Jason Anderson 131
2. Cole Seely 127
3. Justin Hill 107
4. Dean Wilson 98
5. Cooper Webb 92
6. Malcolm Stewart 89
7. Jessy Nelson 76
8. Shane McElrath 71

9. Zach Osborne 69
10. Dean Ferris 63
11. Michael Leib 51
12. Dakota Tedder 50
13. Jake Canada 46
14. Scott Champion 46
15. Valentin Teillet 28
16. Cole Martinez 24
17. Darryn Durham 21
18. Topher Ingalls 19
19. Preston Mull 17
20. Chris Plouffe 13
More News Articles
Headlines ›

Related Photos

  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby

Featured Products