Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest

Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda Back on the Box in Houston

AMA Supercross - Houston TX

  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
After a long break, the riders competing in the west region supercross series lined back up to face off in one of the final three rounds of the 2014 series. There is much on the line as Cole Seely is still in contention for the championship, Malcolm Stewart is looking for his first win and Jessy Nelson and Shane McElrath are eyeing the podium for the first time. Collectively, the Troy Lee Designs / Lucas Oil / Honda riders had their work cut out for them.

In the opening heat TLD / Lucas Oil / Honda rider Jessy Nelson pulled the holeshot and started the night out right. His lead was short-lived though as he struggled to get the track dialed in. He would end up fourth and earn a good gate pick for the main event.

Heat two featured Cole Seely and the two TLD / MavTV / Honda riders, Stewart and McElrath. Seely yanked the heat two holeshot and led the race wire-to-wire, setting himself up nicely for the main event. Stewart and McElrath were caught up in a vicious battle for position the entire race. As the checkers flew Malcolm came across third and Shane finished fifth. That put all of the team riders safely into the final.

The main event began with another TLD holeshot as Jessy Nelson blasted into the lead. All three of his teammates were inside the top eight behind him. Malcolm worked his way to third and looked to be closing in on the leaders as the race wore on. A mistake in the whoops with a few laps to go would cost the young rider and he would settle for a third.

Nelson had trouble finding the speed of the leaders and over the course of the fifteen laps he dropped to tenth position. Shane McElrath rode hard and posted a seventh place on the night, another solid finish for the rookie. Cole Seely, who started in eighth spot, made a charge towards the front but got hit from behind by another rider, damaging his rear brake in the process. The rear brake still worked for a few laps but eventually went away completely. It was all Seely could do to hang on to fourth and keep himself in the title chase.

Currently the team riders sit 2nd, 5th, 7th and 8th in the point standings. Seely is eleven points out of the lead and will need some luck to close the gap with only a couple rounds remaining.

Seattle is the next stop on the tour this Saturday night so be sure to come out and follow the Troy Lee Designs riders as they fight for podium real estate in Washington.

TLD would like to thank all of our team sponsors: Lucas Oil, American Honda, PPG, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Seaspan, FenderĀ®, Pro Tork, MavTV, Method Race Wheels, GoPro, Fasthouse, Pixelmags, Horizon Hobby, FMF Racing, Dunlop, VP Racing Fuels, Showa, Alpinestars, ODI, Pacific Collision Centers, New Era, Specialized, Sram, Renthal, Twin Air, Braking, McQueen Racing, Cyrca, Sol Republic, Hinson, Shock Doctor, ARC, Carillo, Sports Care Center, Samco, Xtrig, VQ Orthocare, Vortex, Kryptonight, Kasey Kahne, Dirt Star, Moto Tassinari, DID, Dirt Star, N-Style.

Video: Supercross LIVE! 2014 - And On The Podium Tonight - Malcolm Stewart in Houston

Photo Gallery: Houston SX 2014 (Photos: Cudby)

Race Results:

250 Heat 1
1. Cooper Webb
2. Justin Hill
3. Jake Canada
4. Jessy Nelson
5. Dean Wilson
6. Michael Leib
7. Chris Howell
8. Ruben Alanis
9. Mark Weishaar

250 Heat 2
1. Cole Seely
2. Jason Anderson
3. Malcolm Stewart
4. Zach Osborne
5. Shane McElrath
6. Scott Champion
7. Zackery Freeberg
8. Topher Ingalls
9. Brandon Scharer

250 Main Event
1. Jason Anderson (KTM)
2. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki)
3. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
4. Cole Seely (Honda)

5. Zach Osborne (Honda)
6. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
7. Shane McElrath (Honda)
8. Jake Canada (Honda)
9. Justin Hill (Kawasaki)
10. Jessy Nelson (Honda)
11. Zackery Freeberg (Yamaha)
12. Dakota Tedder (Kawasaki)
13. Michael Leib (Honda)
14. Scott Champion (Yamaha)
15. Topher Ingalls (Honda)
16. Preston Mull (Yamaha)
17. Brandon Scharer (Suzuki)
18. Chris Howell (Yamaha)
19. Ruben Alanis (KTM)
20. Cheyenne Harmon (KTM)
21. Colton Aeck (Honda)
22. Mark Weishaar (Yamaha)

250 Western Regional SX Points Standings
1. Jason Anderson 156
2. Cole Seely 145
3. Dean Wilson 120
4. Justin Hill 119
5. Malcolm Stewart 109
6. Cooper Webb 107
7. Jessy Nelson 87
8. Zach Osborne 85
9. Shane McElrath 85
10. Dean Ferris 63
More News Articles
Headlines ›

Related Photos

  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Cole Seely, Photo: Cudby
  • Jessy Nelson, Photo: Cudby
  • Shane McElrath, Photo: Cudby
  • Malcolm Stewart, Photo: Cudby

Featured Products