Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest
Photo of Shane McElrath

30Shane McElrath

Team TLD / KTM

Team: TLD / KTM

Sponsors: TLD, KTM, Red Bull, Adidas, Oakley, Fender®, MavTV, GoPro

164 lbs
Asheville, NC
Canton, NC
turned pro:
Jordan Troxell
How did you get into Motocross?
My dad was a local pro back in his glory days and that soon led to my sisters riding and racing, then my older brother, and now myself and my younger brother!

How old were you when you started riding?
I started riding at the age of 3…but it was a quad. You take what you can get. Haha!

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in the Smoky Mountains in North Carolina, just west of Asheville.

How did you first get introduced to TLD and/or Troy?
I was introduced to our team manager, Tyler Keefe, at Loretta’s in 2012 and they were interested in having me on the team and so we stayed in close contact since then.

How long have you been riding for TLD?
I have been riding with TLD for just over 2 years now, since 2012!

Which TLD products are you using?
I use all the TLD products! Just about everything they have to offer from moto to mountain biking and BMX.

Do any athletes/riders influence or inspire your style?
Trey Canard influences me in many ways. I admire his faith and his character; his riding style is definitely second to none in my opinion also.

What do you like to do when you're not riding?
I like being constructive and building/fixing things or playing Xbox with my brother!

What bands/music are you into?
I’m not into any certain band or group but I like Country, Christian, and some Hip Hop.

What are some of your favorite foods?
I tell people all the time, I’ll eat just about anything that doesn’t eat me first! I like sushi a lot thanks to Jeff Weiner…

List 3 goals you have for the upcoming season:
1. I want to go fast!!!
2. I want to have a full season with no injuries!
3. I want to be there at every race scoring maximum points.

List a few highlights of your career:
For myself, I feel like my only halfway notable ones are a 5th at San Diego SX 2014 and a 10th overall at Unadilla.

What's your favorite race/event and why?
I like Unadilla! The biggest reason is because that's the only one my family gets to go to.

What's your idea of an epic day riding?
Riding a track that is almost rougher than the typical outdoor national (which is about everyday at ClubMX).

Where’s your favorite place to travel to?
I really enjoyed Sweden and it really hit me to where it makes me want to travel to so many other places.

What's the best thing about being a professional athlete?
You get to do what you love to do!!

If you weren't a professional athlete, how would you want to spend your time?
I don’t think I can answer this in a single answer. I would love to do some sort of building or drafting/design.

If you were running things, what would you change about the industry?
Hmm…In my opinion, there are a few head members of the industry that make way too much money and they don’t do enough with it.

Who would you like to thank?
God, for everything, the whole TLD crew, Lucas Oil, KTM, Redbull, Adidas, Oakley and Specialized.

Any words of wisdom?
Nobody ever got to where they are without perseverance.