Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest
Photo of Russell Bobbitt

21ARussell Bobbitt

AMA Endurocross

Team: Factory FMF/KTM

Sponsors: Troy Lee Designs, KTM, Thor, FMF, Motorex, Dunlop, WP, Renthal, IMS, Ogio, Scott, Trinity, Factory Connection, VP Racing, Excel, Muscle Milk, Rekluse, Hydrapak, CTi, WP

birthdate:
2/10/1986
birthplace:
Atlanta, GA
height:
5'10
residence:
Fayetteville, A
website:
http://rbobbitt.com/
weight:
165 lbs

How did you get into enduro?
I got into BMX and riding bicycles as a kid just because that was the fun thing to do with all the neighborhood kids. My dad owned a motorcycle shop so it was inevitable that I would get on a dirtbike.

How old were you when you started riding?
I started out on a PW-50 when I was 4.

Where did you grow up?
Just south of Atlanta, GA in Fayetteville.

How did you first get introduced to TLD and/or Troy?
A local rep for my dads shop originally helped me get in contact with TLD and that was in 2005! The first time I met Troy I was doing a KTM Poster Photoshoot at Glen Helen and he was out riding. I actually didn’t have my hands on the newest designed lid from TLD yet and when I introduced myself to Troy he straight up said, “I am going to ride one more moto and then you can have my helmet.” That was really impressive and made a huge statement about what a good guy he was.

How long have you been riding for TLD?
2012 will be my 8th year!

Which TLD products are you using?
I wear the casual wear along with the SE3 Helmets.

Do any athletes/riders influence or inspire your style?
I would say that back in the day that Shaun Palmer was my idol and I looked up to him a lot.

What do you like to do when you're not riding?
I like mountain biking a bunch along with riding my stand up jet ski. It is pretty fun poaching random ponds with the ski with my friends in the summer. Going snowboarding in the winter is another sport that I enjoy.

What bands/music are you into?
It seems that as music has been progressing, my taste in music has as well. I catch myself listening to way more genres that what I used to. I still predominately listen to Classic Rock/Metal, but listen to some Punk, Alternative and Hiphop now a good bit, too.

List three goals you have for the upcoming season:
1. AMA National Enduro Champion.
2. OMA Champion.
3. Overall the Trophy Team Category with Team USA at the ISDE.

List a few highlights of your career:
4 AMA National Enduro Championships.
Winning Junior Team ISDE 2006.
Winning Podium World Trophy Team 2011.
3 ISDE Gold Medals.
AMA Athlete of the Year 2011.

What's your favorite race/event and why?
It would have to be the International Six Days Enduro. It is the most prestigious race in offroad and the most fun. It is a team sport so you get to enjoy camaraderie with the people you would normally be competing against.

What's your idea of an epic day riding?
Waking up in a place you have never been to ride before and taking off to explore territory you have never ventured.

What's the best thing about being a professional athlete?
Being able to enjoy what I do everyday. Feeling the fruits of accomplishment after all the time and effort you have exerted.

If you weren't a professional athlete, how would you want to spend your time?
That’s a toughy.. I would have to find something that was always challenging and still enjoyable. I like working with people involved with the racing community, so I would still have to find something related to bikes and people.

If you were running things, what would you change about the industry?
I would split marketing and budgeting more equally for offroad and motocross.

Who would you like to thank?
All the painters at TLD for doing such an awesome job with customizing my helmets and the entire staff that helps tie everything together to have things work smoothly.

Any words of wisdom?
The right combination of fun and commitment makes for happiness and success.