Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest
Photo of Lorena Garal

75Lorena Garal

WMX

Sponsors: Troy Lee Designs, Dodge Ram, Kawasaki, Sport City

height:
5'1"
weight:
99 lbs
birthplace:
Mexico City, Mexico
current residence:
Mexico City, Mexico

How did you get into Motocross?
My dad used to ride a CBR600 with his friends just for fun, when some of them started having accidents he switched to dirt bikes (he was 40 years old); that was the first time I ever heard of them. Since my dad worked a lot during the week and rode his bike on weekends my mom suggested I get my own bike so I could hang out with him. After few months I discovered the AMA races on ESPN and started doing research on MX. One year later I convinced my parents to buy me an 85cc and that was when it all started. First I raced Enduro and then Motocross!

How old were you when you started riding?
I was 14 years old the first time I rode a bike on my own, and I started racing 1 year later.

Where did you grow up?
Mexico City.

How did you first get introduced to TLD and/or Troy?
I was first contacted for sponsorship by a guy who sells TLD gear in Mexico, then Javier Villegas introduced me to TLD's Motorsports Athlete Manager, Jeff, who has been supporting me ever since.

How long have you been riding for TLD?
Since 2012.

Which TLD products are you using?
Jersey, pants, glove, chest protector and helmet.

Do any athletes/riders influence or inspire your style?
I like the riders with soft, smooth and ¨clean¨ style that doesn't look forced, the ones that don't fight against the bike but go with the flow. I like to watch the guys and girls who have born talent style.

What do you like to do when you're not riding?
I love to hang out with my friends, I try to do/learn other sports like snowboarding, downhill and wakeboarding, I do a little marketing for my racing career, and I'm an interactive designer so I also do a little freelance and designs here and there.

What bands/music are you into?
Pop, Punk, Alternative, etc. A little bit of almost everything.

List 3 goals you have for the upcoming season:
1. At least top 5 at Latin-American Motocross Championship.
2. Start racing in the WMA .
3. To win the motocross Olympics.

List a few highlights of your career:
3rd place at Motocross Olympics in the Women's Class in 2012.
2011 Mexican Motocross National Champion
Ranked Top 5 in N3 Class (against men) in 2011
Campaign Image for international brands like Canon and Levis.
Participation at ISDE in 2010
1st place at VCR/PSL Track Day in Guatemala in the Women's Class in 2009.
2008 Mexican Motocross National Sub Champion.
1st woman to race the ¨Funenduro¨.
Special award for racing Harescrambles.

What's your favorite race/event and why?
Since I haven't raced at WMA yet, I'd have to say the Latin American Championship because it's the most important race I've been in and I love meeting and racing against the fastest girls in Latin America.

What's your idea of an epic day riding?
I love traveling, so my first option would be to do a MX road trip with a bunch of friends, just hanging out and riding in different cities… just living the life! Or… if I had a boyfriend who rides…. going to the track with him, we would ride and have a lot of fun together.

What's the best thing about being a professional athlete?
Living my life the way I want and always dreamed, having the courage to fight for my dream no matter how hard it gets, traveling around the world while doing the thing I love the most, meeting new people and visiting new places every time, being able to inspire others to do what they love, but above all just BEING HAPPY knowing that I will never regret the decision I made!

If you weren't a professional athlete, how would you want to spend your time?
Working on Sports Marketing at some big cool brand like Red Bull, Troy Lee Designs, Nike, Adidas or any brand directly related to Action Sports; traveling a lot around the world and still having fun with my friends. If I wasn't a pro at any sport, I would still practice a lot of them like motocross, snowboard, car racing and surf!

If you were running things, what would you change about the industry?
I'd make my strategies thinking out of the box, and bigger support for athletes, not only in USA, but in other countries.

Who would you like to thank?
All the people who follow and support my racing career because they encourage me to keep on racing no matter what; All of my moto friends who are always up for some riding and/or helping and supporting me in- and outside of the track; All of my friends that understand when I fail to attend a birthday celebration because I have to race that same weekend; The media because they always have an eye on me and my racing; My sponsors for believing in me: Dodge Ram, Kawasaki, Troy Lee Designs and Sport City; And my family that finally understood that all I want to do is racing.

Any words of wisdom?
¨If you are going to fight for something, fight for that one thing you love¨