Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest
Photo of Charlie Harrison

Charlie Harrison

Downhill MTB

Team: ODI / Specialized

Sponsors: Troy Lee Designs, Specialized, ODI, Shimano, FOX, Gamüt, 100%, Atlas Brace, Matrix Concepts, Novatec, HT, SDG, Honey Stinger, Team Houseman Racing, Giro Cycling, Maxima Racing Products, Rove Headsets

birthdate:
10/18/1997
height:
6'
weight:
155 lbs
birthplace:
Mission Viejo, CA
current residence:
Trabucco Canyon, CA
race class:
Junior X / Cat 1 / Junior Category
instagram:
charlie_harrison_
  • Charlie Harrison
  • Charlie Harrison
  • Charlie Harrison
How did you get into Motocross, Mountain Biking, etc?
I raced motocross for eight years and got burnt out on it. When i wasn’t racing motocross anymore I bought a downhill bike and got invited to go to a Fontana downhill race. I ended up winning the race and the rest after that is history.

How old were you when you started riding?
I started riding a bicycle at one and half and a dirt bike at two years of age. I started racing moto at five and downhill at thirteen.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Mission Viejo California, I’m still growing up.

How did you first get introduced to TLD and/or Troy?
I got introduced to TLD through my team manager RIch Houseman.

How long have you been riding for TLD?
I’ve been riding for TLD for two years.

Which TLD products are you using?
I run TLD products head to toe.

Do any athletes/riders influence or inspire your style?
I try to ride like Brendog but it always looks cooler in my head.

What do you like to do when you're not riding?
When I’m not riding I like to hangout with my friends and go to the beach.

What bands/music are you into?
I like all kinds of music, it all depends on what I’m doing.

What are some of your favorite foods?
My favorite food is Chipotle, home cooked pasta, or gluten- free pizza.

List 3 goals you have for the upcoming season:
1. Win National Champs
2. Win a World Cup
3. Win Worlds

List a few highlights of your career:
Winning the 2013 Pro GRT at Fontana, Mountain Creek, and Mammoth.
Winning National Champs in the 15-16 category is also a huge highlight of my career.

What's your favorite race/event and why?
My favorite event is Port Angeles because it was my first ever national, I love the track, I love the weather of Washington, and the atmoshpere of the race is laid back.

What's your idea of an epic day riding?
Doing shuttle runs with buddies after a good rain.

Where’s your favorite place to travel to?
My favorite place to travel is Port Angeles, Washington.

What's the best thing about being a professional athlete?
The best thing about being a professional athlete is to do what you absolutely love for living which keeps it from being a ‘job’.

If you weren't a professional athlete, how would you want to spend your time?
If I wasn’t a professional athlete, I would spend more time at the beach and become a firefighter.

If you were running things, what would you change about the industry?
If I was running the industry, I would make it so people don’t have to wait forever for whatever they need- bikes, parts, gear, etc.

Who would you like to thank?
I’d like to thank my parents first off for all the sacrifices they make for me, my manager Rich Houseman because he’s the one who’s guided me my whole career, my trainer Ben Clark for getting me ready both physically and mentally for my races, my mechanic John Hall for being an unsung hero and always having my bikes dialed, Stik at TLD for taking such good care of me, Colby and Kevin at ODI for supporting me for forever, Joe at Shimano for all his support, Darren at FOX for all the help, Aaron Gwin for taking me under his wing and being an awesome friend/mentor/coach, and all of my sponsors of course because without them, none of my success and amazing memories from racing would be possible.

Any words of wisdom?
“ Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the lord, not for men.” Colossians 3: 23