Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest
Photo of Kye Refvem

155Kye Refvem

Downhill MTB

Team: Dirt Corps

Sponsors: Troy Lee Designs, Dirt Corps, Trek, Greggs Cycles, Fox Racing Shox, Deity, Smith Optics, FiveTen, SixSixOne

birthdate:
3/9/1995
height:
5'9
weight:
140 lbs
birthplace:
Bellevue, WA
residence:
Fall City, WA
How did you get into Mountain Biking?
When I was younger I always rode my bike everywhere in my little town. I grew up riding with neighbors and friends my whole childhood and around 2008 I began riding some local trails with some buddies which got me hooked.

How old were you when you started riding?
I was 12 when I first started riding XC and All Mountain which eventually led me into Downhill.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Fall City, Washington where I still live today.

How did you first get introduced to TLD and/or Troy?
I grew up watching Motocross on TV and TLD always had the best looking race kits out of all the riders. Yet I never knew I would be riding for TLD myself.

How long have you been riding for TLD?
Going on 3 years now., since 2011.

Which TLD products are you using?
D3 Helmet (Zap Yellow), Pistonbone Jersey, Pistonbone Pants, Ruckus Jersey, SE Pro Gloves.

Do any athletes/riders influence or inspire your style?
All of the big name riders influence me and inspire me to become a better rider. As far as style, Brendan Fairclough is my biggest inspiration. Nothing better looking than a good whip or scrub.

What do you like to do when you're not riding?
I love to drive my truck and go four wheeling with my buddies. I also enjoy hunting, sport shooting and dirtbiking.

What bands/music are you into?
I mainly listen to country music. Justin Moore and Jake Owen are my favorites. But I'll listen to almost any music that's not completely boring.

List 3 goals you have for the upcoming season:
1. Get my first Junior Expert win.
2. Give 100% in race runs and to not leave anything on the course.
3. Race as many races as possible while staying healthy and in good shape.

List a few highlights of your career:
Getting my first Cat 2 win two years ago in Port Angeles.
Placing 2nd overall in Cat 2 in the NW Cup Series.

What's your favorite race/event and why?
My favorite race event is definitely Crankworx Whistler. Nothing better than having thousands of people in one place who all enjoy the same sport. And you get to ride some laps with some big names and watch them shred the whole way down the mountain!

What's your idea of an epic day riding?
Start out with some warm up laps on some moderate DH trails, then ride some Crabapple Hits style tables for big air time, eat some lunch and then hit some long gnarly downhill trails and then after dinner ride some skate park or pump track.

What's the best thing about being a Mountain Bike athlete?
You can never get tired of what you love. I love racing and riding downhill. I get to ride with friends and have the time of my life. And I get to travel around to different venues and meet cool people.

If you weren't a Mountain Bike athlete, how would you want to spend your time?
I would want to spend my time in my truck going off road and going camping somewhere. Hard to beat camping up in the woods!

If you were running things, what would you change about the industry?
I wouldn't change much, it's all going quite well. I would like to see the price of components come down a bit, technology is getting a bit expensive for amateur riders.

Who would you like to thank?
Thanks to My parents and their wallets for taking me to each event.
Team Dirt Corps who has helped me learn so much the last 2 years.
Matt Patterson for inviting me to my first ever race a few years back and letting me trail him the last few years and really teaching me how to ride a bike.
Thanks to all the Dirt Corps sponsors who have provided support to reduce the cost of racing and riding, which can be difficult as a younger rider especially.

Any words of wisdom?
Ride for yourself and race your own race. Other riders race times are not the issue. It's your time that determines your place in the race.