Region: United States
Select your region:
  • Worldwide
  • United States
Welcome, Guest
Photo of Dustin Rogers

Dustin Rogers

Downhill MTB

Team: Dirt Corps

Sponsors: Troy Lee Designs, Dirt Corps, Gregg’s Cycles, Fox Racing Shox, Deity, Smith Optics, FiveTen, SixSixOne, Snoridge Crossfit

birthdate:
4/15/1982
height:
6'3
weight:
190 lbs
birthplace:
West Allis, WI
residence:
Issaquah, WA
How did you get into Mountain Biking?
I started mountain biking in Wisconsin in the late 90s. At the time it was just something fun to do between swim practices. It wasn’t until I moved to Washington in 2009 that I got introduced to Freeride and DH racing by my good friends in the Dirt Corps.

How old were you when you started riding?
I think I got my first BMX bike when I was 6 and my first mountain bike was I was about 13. However, racing didn’t come into the picture until I was 28.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in West Allis, WI.

How did you first get introduced to TLD and/or Troy?
When I started racing a few years ago I couldn’t help but notice all of these awesome helmets and jerseys everyone was wearing. Being the gear junkie that I am I had to find out more. After seeing how well made everything from TLD is I was hooked.

How long have you been riding for TLD?
Since 2011.

Which TLD products are you using?
D3 Helmet, shorts, jerseys, gloves, socks, protective gear…

Do any athletes/riders influence or inspire your style?
I’ve always been inspired by athletes with tireless work ethics. I don’t care if you’re the most talented person out there. If you put in the time and earn your stripes you’re an inspiration in my book. A few names that come to mind are Aaron Gwin, Micheal Phelps, Brendan Hansen and Steve Peat.

What do you like to do when you're not riding?
I like to be outside so pretty much anything that gets me out of the house. Trail building, Crossfit, fishing, hunting, snowboarding, camping, hiking…

What bands/music are you into?
I grew up during the grunge era so my go-to would have to be alternative rock.

List 3 goals you have for the upcoming season:
1. Podium at a DH race
2. Place in the top 25% at an Enduro race
3. Break through some mental barriers when it comes to riding bigger trails

List a few highlights of your career:
I’ve had a few Cat II top ten finishes in the NW Cup and I competed in my first Enduro race last year.

What's your favorite race/event and why?
My favorite race so far was the Hood River Enduro in 2012. The atmosphere was great and I was able to learn some new trails with my wife, which was awesome. On the event side you can’t really beat Crankworx in Whistler, can you?

What's your idea of an epic day riding?
1. Lost lake ride in the morning
2. Burgers and brews at the GLC
3. Whistler bike park laps in the afternoon
4. More brews with my bros at the Dublin Gate

What's the best thing about being a Mountain Bike athlete?
I think the best thing about mountain biking is just being in the outdoors. It doesn’t get much better than digging in the dirt on a sunny PNW summer day.

If you weren't a Mountain Bike athlete, how would you want to spend your time?
I’d prefer not to think about that…

If you were running things, what would you change about the industry?
I think the cost of entry is just too high. I understand that you have to pay to play but it would be a lot easier to get new folks into the sport if there were some higher quality, lower cost options.

Who would you like to thank?
Number one is definitely my wife, Lindsay. She’s been nothing but supportive. Also, my extended Dirt Corps family. You guys (and gals) have made this the awesome experience that it is. And last but certainly not least our great sponsors like TLD that make sure we have the best equipment out there.

Any words of wisdom?
If it’s not fun, you’re not doing it right.